May 28, 2023 8:25 am

Idles Announce New Album Crawler, Share Video for New Song: Watch

Idles have announced their next studio album. It’s called Crawler and it arrives November 12 via Partisan. The 14-track follow-up to last year’s Ultra Mono was recorded at Real World Studios in Bath during the pandemic. It was co-produced by Kenny Beats and Idles guitarist Mark Bowen. Today, the band has shared lead single “The Beachland Ballroom,” named after the Ohio venue. Watch the music video for the song below and scroll down to find the LP art and tracklist.

Of the new song, lead vocalist Joe Talbot said in press materials:

It’s the most important song on the album, really. There’s so many bands that go through the small rooms and dream of making it into the big rooms. Being able to write a soul tune like this made me go, fuck—we’re at a place where we’re actually allowed to go to these big rooms and be creative and not just go through the motions and really appreciate what we’ve got. The song is sort of an allegory of feeling lost and getting through it. It’s one that I really love singing.

Mark Bowen added: “I didn’t know Joe could sing like that. He’s been trying to write ‘Be My Baby’ since the very beginning, but he didn’t want to be the punk guy wearing the Motown clothes. He wanted it to feel natural, and this song is.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.


01 MTT 420 RR
02 The Wheel
03 When the Lights Come On
04 Car Crash
05 The New Sensation
06 Stockholm Syndrome
07 The Beachland Ballroom
08 Crawl!
09 Meds
10 Kelechi
11 Progress
12 Wizz
13 King Snake
14 The End

Source link




Location: Beckley United States
50°FFeels like 49°F